2015 ICC Cricket World Cup Schedule, Venues, Groups And Tickets

The 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the 11th ICC Cricket World Cup, and will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand and is scheduled to take place from 14 February to 29 March 2015. 49 matches will be played in 14 venues with Australia staging 26 games at grounds in Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney while New Zealand hosting 23 games in seven cities, including Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Napier, Nelson and Wellington. The final match of the tournament will take place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

The hosting rights were awarded at the same time as those of the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup, which Australia and New Zealand had originally bid to host, and the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup, which was awarded to England. The 2011 tournament was awarded to the four Asian Test cricket playing countries, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, in a 10 to 3 vote (Pakistan later lost the co-hosting rights due to a terrorist attack on the Sri Lankan team). The International Cricket Council were sufficiently impressed with the trans-Tasman bid that it was decided to award the next World Cup to Australia and New Zealand.


The ICC originally announced the previous edition, the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup hosts on 30 April 2006. Australian and New Zealand had also bid for the tournament and a successful Australasian bid for the 2011 World Cup would have seen a 50–50 split in games, with the final still up for negotiation. The Trans-Tasman bid, Beyond Boundaries, was the only bid for 2011 delivered to the ICC headquarters at Dubai before 1 March deadline. Considerable merits of the bid included the superior venues and infrastructure, and the total support of the Australian and New Zealand governments on tax and custom issues during the tournament, according to Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland. The New Zealand government had also assured that the Zimbabwean team will be allowed to take part in the tournament after political discussions about whether their team would be allowed to tour Zimbabwe in 2005.

ICC President Ehsan Mani said that the extra time required by the Asian block to hand over its bid had harmed the four-nation bid. However, when it came to the voting, the Asians won by seven votes to four, which according to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), was the vote of the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) hat turned the matter. It was reported in Pakistani newspaper Dawn that the Asian countries promised to hold fund-raising events for West Indian cricket during the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup, which may have influenced the vote.However, I.S. Bindra, chairman of the monitoring committee of the Asian bid denied that, saying that it was their promise of extra profits of US$400 million, that swung the vote in their way.

The ICC was so impressed by the efficiency of the Trans-Tasman bid, that they decided to award the very next World Cup, to be held in 2015, to them.

The 2015 World Cup will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand in February and March 2015. Australia and New Zealand last jointly hosted the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1992. The 2015 World Cup is expected to be the largest international sporting event for both countries in 2015.


Per ICC regulations, the 10 ICC full member nations qualify for the tournament automatically. Immediately after the 2011 World Cup, it was decided that the next tournament would be reduced to only feature the 10 full members. This was met with heavy criticism from a number of associate nations, especially from the Ireland cricket team, who had performed well in 2007 and 2011. Following support shown by the ICC Cricket Committee for a qualification process, the ICC retracted their decision in June 2011 and decided that 14 teams will participate in the 2015 World Cup, including four associate or affiliate member nations.

At the ICC Chief Executives’ Committee meeting in September 2011, the ICC decided on a new qualifying format. The top two teams of the 2011–13 ICC World Cricket League Championship qualify directly. The remaining six teams join the third and fourth-placed teams of 2011 ICC World Cricket League Division Two and the top two teams of 2013 ICC World Cricket League Division Three in a 10-team World Cup Qualifier to decide the remaining two places.

On 9 July 2013, as a result of a tied match against Netherlands, Ireland became the first country to qualify for the 2015 World Cup. On 4 October 2013, Afghanistan qualified for their first Cricket World Cup after beating Kenya to finish in second place behind Ireland.

Scotland defeated the UAE in the final of the 2014 Cricket World Cup Qualifier and both teams qualified for the last 2 spots in the 2015 Cricket World cup.

Team Method of qualification Past appearances Last appearance Previous best performance Rank[nb 1] Group
 England Full member 10 2011 Runners-up (1979, 1987, 1992) 1 A
 South Africa 6 2011 Semi-finals (1992, 1999, 2007) 2 B
 India 10 2011 Champions (1983, 2011) 3 B
 Australia 10 2011 Champions (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007) 4 A
 Sri Lanka 10 2011 Champions (1996) 5 A
 Pakistan 10 2011 Champions (1992) 6 B
 West Indies 10 2011 Champions (1975, 1979) 7 B
 Bangladesh 4 2011 Super 8 (2007) 8 A
 New Zealand 10 2011 Semi-finals (1975, 1979, 1992, 1999, 2007, 2011) 9 A
 Zimbabwe 8 2011 Super 6 (1999, 2003) 10 B
 Ireland WCL Championship 2 2011 Super 8 (2007) 11 B
 Afghanistan 0 12 A
 Scotland World Cup Qualifier 2 2007 Group stage (1999, 2007) 13 A
 United Arab Emirates 1 1996 Group stage (1996) 14 B

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>